High-quality happiness

One of the rules I've been trying to live by is this:

"Invest in the stuff you use everyday, and save on the rest"

In Dutch, we have a saying; "Goedkoop is duurkoop", which means that buying something cheap will eventually cost you more.

When buying shoes - let's say a pair of Oxfords - I was always tempted to go for cheaper models. I would buy a pair for €80, but they wouldn't last a year. I knew the pricier ones were better, but I just wasn't convinced they were worth the extra cost and I kept buying the cheaper ones.

Then one day, I stumbled on some of these pricier Oxfords on sale and I decided to go for it. I can't say they were that much more comfortable, but I was stunned by the build quality; I was able to use them for more than three years before they were worn out. The sole, the leather, it all held up remarkably well.

I've had the same experience with laptops. I had a few models before I decided to buy a Macbook Pro in 2015. Man, they are rock solid! It's a high quality product that I enjoy daily, and it's still going strong after seven years.

So, we all know money doesn't buy you happiness..but it allows you to buy high-quality products that will bring you happiness.

pulset@proton.me

↩ Back to posts